Author Topic: Telescope Advice  (Read 4404 times)

Offline Bryanpoprobson

• Jupiter
  • Another Clown
Telescope Advice
« on: March 11, 2017, 08:39:06 AM »
I used to have a big (16") beast permanently set up on my roof in Spain. I am back in the UK with it's light pollution and thinking of investing in an 8" Celestron Nexstar evolution as it is easily removed from the arm and the tube can be carried separately. I was originally look at a Meade, but the tube is hard to remove from the mount. Anyone familiar with the subject matter wants to give some advice? I've always been a hands on with motordriven EQ mont man, I am a novice with all this new fangled computer driven mumbo juumbo.
"Wise men speak because they have something to say!" "Fools speak, because they have to say something!" (Plato)

Offline Zakalwe

• Uranus
Re: Telescope Advice
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 04:51:36 PM »
It depends on what you are wanting to achieve. Lunar imaging? Visual only? Grab and go?

An 8" SCT will take a fair bit of cooling down, so it mightn't be the thing for a grab'n'go rig. Using it once it's cooled is easy...the newer GOTOs are very easy. Personally, I'd steer away from the Meades...good optics but their electronics and mechanicals are not supposed to be as reliable. This might be an Internet rumour, but Ive seen plenty of bad stories about failures and poor after sales support.

"The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.' " - Isaac Asimov

Offline Bryanpoprobson

• Jupiter
  • Another Clown
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2017, 04:50:49 AM »