Author Topic: VHF vs UHF  (Read 11274 times)

Offline ka9q

• Neptune
VHF vs UHF
« on: November 26, 2012, 04:17:59 AM »
Being a radio communications engineer I tend to get into minutiae like this, but I've long noticed that the Shuttle reused two of Apollo's VHF-AM frequencies while calling them "UHF". (A notable use was the Capcom's repeated call during the STS-107 entry: "Columbia, Houston. UHF comm check...")

The two frequencies are 259.7 and 296.8 MHz. The Apollo inter-PLSS link used 279.0, which I don't think the shuttle used, and the shuttle could use the military "guard" (emergency) frequency of 243.0 MHz, which I don't think Apollo had.

The VHF band is officially defined as 30-300 MHz while UHF is 300-3,000 MHz, making the Apollo usage the correct one.

The shuttle also reused the Apollo CSM S-band frequency pair (2287.5 MHz down, with the same uplink/downlink frequency ratio of 221/240), plus another I don't think Apollo used (2217.5 MHz down).

The term "S-band" originated in WW2 as one of a whole set of letter designations chosen to confuse the Germans about our radar developments. It runs from 2-4 GHz (2,000-4,000 MHz). So these S-band frequencies are also in the UHF range, making the shuttle's "UHF" reference doubly incorrect.

I wonder why they did this. Maybe everything having to do with the shuttle, which was supposed to be an improvement over Apollo, had to be "ultra" when Apollo was only "very"...

Offline Glom

• Saturn
Re: Re: VHF vs UHF
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2012, 06:28:40 AM »
Being a radio communications engineer I tend to get into minutiae like this, but I've long noticed that the Shuttle reused two of Apollo's VHF-AM frequencies while calling them "UHF". (A notable use was the Capcom's repeated call during the STS-107 entry: "Columbia, Houston. UHF comm check...")