Author Topic: Regarding certain audio oddities in Apollo  (Read 3355 times)

Offline BDL

• Venus
Regarding certain audio oddities in Apollo
« on: July 29, 2018, 06:34:54 AM »
Hello. This is actually my first post so I’m just starting to learn.
Anyways, this is in regards to audio oddities that are heard in some Apollo recordings.

In this video, there are a couple bits where some unexplained noises are heard when there apparently should be none. For example, when opening the lid, and dropping the lunar rock inside the bag. It doesn’t seem like the astronauts were really connected to, or in contact with that so I’m unsure why the noise was picked up by the microphone. When I first watched this video I had thought that the videomaker would merely parrot the same hoaxer nonsense as they usually do but to my surprise I was incorrect. This is the first time I’ve been genuinely stumped.

I’m sorry if this explanation should be obvious or has been answered somewhere before but as a layman I don’t really know as much as I’d like to. I’m an amateur computer programmer but that’s all I have going for me at the moment.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2018, 06:41:46 AM by BDL »
“One small step for [a] man, one giant leap for mankind.” - Neil Armstrong, 1969

Offline onebigmonkey

• Uranus
  • ALSJ Clown
    • Apollo Hoax Debunked
Re: Regarding certain audio oddities in Apollo
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2018, 12:12:54 PM »
Hello and welcome.

My first reaction, and I am happy to be corrected, is that the astronauts are always in contact with something that will transmit vibrations - even if it's only the ground. I'd also think it's significant that they will be the only things making any kind of noise for miles around!

Offline AtomicDog

• Mars
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2018, 12:38:12 PM »
Also, why would there be microphones on a set that is supposed to represent an AIRLESS surface?