Author Topic: What has happened to GLP?  (Read 12887 times)

Offline Andromeda

• Jupiter
Re: What has happened to GLP?
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2014, 05:09:35 PM »
I am familiar with DSM5, thanks.

Wow! I found it, impenetrable and obscure, and I do this for a living!
How did you like it?

By the way I thought you were an astronomer. Did I get it that wrong?

I'm not a huge fan.  It has its uses but a variety of limitations.

I'd prefer not to go into detail of my qualifications and experience in public.  I do have degrees in physics and astrophysics, I also have/do other things.
"The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not 'Eureka!' but 'That's funny...'" - Isaac Asimov.

Offline Andromeda

• Jupiter
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2014, 05:11:27 PM »
I just don't get it.

I don't get why people seem to be allowed to have an opinion on everything; science, politics, religion, health, education etc, but as soon they make any mention of "mental" health, the PC brigade pop their heads up, wagging their fingers.

It's not about "the PC brigade...wagging their fingers" (wow, rude!) - it's about knowing that words and labels mean things and that needs to be given some degree of respect.  When a HB comes on here using technical engineering/physics etc terms and getting them wrong or showing lack of understanding, they are corrected and called to account.  It's exactly the same thing.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2014, 05:25:02 PM by Andromeda »
"The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not 'Eureka!' but 'That's funny...'" - Isaac Asimov.

Offline Jason Thompson

• Uranus
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2014, 05:21:12 PM »
I just don't get it.

I don't get why people seem to be allowed to have an opinion on everything; science, politics, religion, health, education etc, but as soon they make any mention of "mental" health, the PC brigade pop their heads up, wagging their fingers.